Erase funtion?

General discussion on mapping.

Moderator: Kyete

Fred

Erase funtion?

Post by Fred » Tue May 26, 2020 1:32 pm

Hi, is there an erase function in OWM?

I'm working on a map for my sword & sorcery RPG campaign and am using the maps of Africa and Eurasia as templates. I've imported the shape file from Natura Earth, selecet Africa nd Euransia, and created a new map from the selection. However, I want to erase the Arabian peninsula and Asia.

Being a newbie, I'm having some trouble with it. When I select the landmass, it selects everything and I know I can delete the selection points, but that is going to take a long time. Is there an erase tool, like in an image editor, that I could use?

Alternatively, is there a simpler way to do what I described?

One more thing: when I added the name of a country, it got blurred. Is that related to scale? How can I fix it?

Thanks and tchau!

Kyete
Site Moderator

Re: Erase funtion?

Post by Kyete » Tue May 26, 2020 5:07 pm

Items like the landmasses are vector based, so an erase tool would be difficult to implement. I recommend using the Partition tool to cut off the areas that you want to get rid of and then delete the resulting fractures.

For the country name, what zoom level are you working at with the Label tool?
-Katie

Fred

Post by Fred » Tue May 26, 2020 5:48 pm

Is the Partition tool the same as the Subtract one? I used the latter after watching you most recent tutorial.

As for the zoom, I guess 100%. There isn't a zoom tool in the Label Properties box. It's weird, as soon as type enter after writing the name, it goes a little blurred. Here's a screen capture:
Captura de Tela 2020-05-26 às 18.45.57.png
Captura de Tela 2020-05-26 às 18.45.57.png (44.15 KiB) Viewed 5580 times
BTW, is there any way to increase the canvas size? My continents are bleeding through.

Thanks for the help!

Kyete
Site Moderator

Post by Kyete » Wed May 27, 2020 12:17 pm