Make Tools more generic

Request changes or additions in functionality.

Moderator: Kyete

evildmguy

Make Tools more generic

Post by evildmguy » Sat Aug 07, 2021 9:28 am

I'm no expert on OWM so I don't know how many things this applies to. What I do have is a specific idea in mind.

I just found the option of Shorelines, mainly because I don't draw landmasses typically. That's another topic. The point I want to make is that there is a lot of functionality in OWM that is limited to specific objects. Shorelines only does its thing against landmasses. This could be tool that would add those against any Landmass, region, and maybe Path? Not sure if it should be limited to anything or not.

This goes also to my request for more control over layers. If that means multiple Canvas types and then layered by that with the ability to move to any canvas. Or maybe a specific layer control that allows me to group items in how I want them drawn?

The idea is to take any tools the program has and extend them to any object rather than specific ones.

Thanks!

Jon
aka edg

evildmguy

Re: Make Tools more generic

Post by evildmguy » Sat Aug 07, 2021 10:51 am

As I think about it more, perhaps for Shorelines, all that needs to happen is to apply it to water types and be able to do it inward?

I'm thinking about smaller maps, like a city on a coast, where I didn't use a landmass to draw the land, just a region. If the intention is that I should have drawn a landmass, I guess it wasn't what I did as a default.

evildmguy

Post by evildmguy » Sat Aug 07, 2021 10:58 am

I probably should edit old posts but am adding things as I think of them. Basically, Shorelines are contour lines, whether it's for water or land. Having the ability to draw a region and apply contours to show elevation would be cool.