Future and potential for Other World Mapper

Questions and comments about Other World Mapper.

Moderator: Kanchou

Lionheart

Future and potential for Other World Mapper

Post by Lionheart » Thu Mar 25, 2021 10:14 pm

With the release of the new updated version, I think it is appropriate to add my thoughts on OWM and its future. Because I see there is a lot of wasted potential here.

In my experience Other World Mapper is a great tool. It is not perfect, but it is very smooth and versatile. Now my background is that I try to create an RPG and a book series (both not released yet) so I am constantly seeking out and reading about and even trying new software and tools that can help on this journey.

I chose OWM over all the other mapping programs because everything you previously created can be changed later on. Every little nook and cranny can be updated no matter how long ago you created it. And everything is vector-based so you can scale things to a large degree.
Another important factor for me was the commercial use of the tool. I need to be able to use these maps in my planned products. Of course the price was very attractive also.

When I got the tool three years ago I was expecting rapid releases and aggressive marketing and additions to the tool. It is THAT great and has THAT potential. Alas it is languishing and I feel it is not just about the beer-bug situation. There is a lack of commitment and direction. And I don't mean this in a negative way. Tools like these are very costly and time-consuming to develop and without proper backing and if the numbers don't add up it is hard to continue forever with huge resources allotted to it.