I can put a lake in a region but not a region in a lake?

Questions and comments about Other World Mapper.

Moderator: Kanchou

User avatar
soulclaw
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 10:48 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

I can put a lake in a region but not a region in a lake?

Postby soulclaw » Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:34 am

I laid out a lake on my new map but was unable to put down a region in the lake to make an island, is there a trick to doing this? The island was under the lake and I couldn't find a way to move it to above the lake.
A journey of 1000 miles begins with a single command from a satellite activated mind control chip.

User avatar
Kanchou
Site Admin
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: I can put a lake in a region but not a region in a lake?

Postby Kanchou » Sun Jul 07, 2019 1:06 pm

soulclaw wrote:I laid out a lake on my new map but was unable to put down a region in the lake to make an island, is there a trick to doing this? The island was under the lake and I couldn't find a way to move it to above the lake.


I think the best approach in this case is to carve a "hole" out of the lake. You can do this by either drawing another lake that is smaller then select both and go to Merge Paths->Union from the edit menu or you can put the lake tool in "subtract mode" from the options at the top (default is "new" item, but it can be placed in "add" or subtract mode).

Let me know if that works for you!

- Alejandro
Alejandro S. Canosa
Three Minds Software