change fractal edge?

Questions and comments about Other World Mapper.

Moderator: Kanchou

andyskinner
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:13 pm

change fractal edge?

Postby andyskinner » Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:08 am

While you are drawing an edge, is there a way to change the fractal edge as you go?

A lot of times I'm trying to make an edge go a certain way, and the fractal edge wants to bend one way when I am trying to bend the other. I can add a really small edge and hope the next one will go the right way. Or I could edit later. But if, while I am still drawing, I could hit a key or something and have it give me a different edge until I get one I like, I'd like to do that.

thanks
andy

User avatar
Kanchou
Site Admin
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: change fractal edge?

Postby Kanchou » Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:39 am

andyskinner wrote:While you are drawing an edge, is there a way to change the fractal edge as you go?

A lot of times I'm trying to make an edge go a certain way, and the fractal edge wants to bend one way when I am trying to bend the other. I can add a really small edge and hope the next one will go the right way. Or I could edit later. But if, while I am still drawing, I could hit a key or something and have it give me a different edge until I get one I like, I'd like to do that.

thanks
andy


There is! There are two shortcuts to do this and they are shown in the Keyboard Shortcuts lists under the Help menu:

* Press "S" to regenerate a fractal. Press "W" to return to the previous fractal
* Hold shift and scroll forward and back to generate a new fractal or return to a previous one.

Thanks!

- Alejandro
Alejandro S. Canosa
Three Minds Software

andyskinner
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:13 pm

Re: change fractal edge?

Postby andyskinner » Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:09 am

Thanks, that will help.

Now to go figure out bezier fractals and whether or not that helps. I think I get more discontinuity at ends of fractal line sections than I'd like. Will that help? I'll spend some time with the doc when I get a chance.

andy

User avatar
Kanchou
Site Admin
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: change fractal edge?

Postby Kanchou » Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:40 pm

andyskinner wrote:Thanks, that will help.

Now to go figure out bezier fractals and whether or not that helps. I think I get more discontinuity at ends of fractal line sections than I'd like. Will that help? I'll spend some time with the doc when I get a chance.

andy


Yes, bezier fractals will make it so that the fractal rides a "carrier" curve. Depending on your style of mapping, you may find enabling "auto segment" helpful.

Let me know if you have any other questions and if you are able to get the effect you want :)

- Alejandro
Alejandro S. Canosa
Three Minds Software

User avatar
Kanchou
Site Admin
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: change fractal edge?

Postby Kanchou » Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:42 pm

(and remember you can always regenerate fractal segments later once the object is created from the "Edit Shape Tool")
Alejandro S. Canosa
Three Minds Software

stefanstr
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: change fractal edge?

Postby stefanstr » Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:24 pm

Kanchou wrote:(and remember you can always regenerate fractal segments later once the object is created from the "Edit Shape Tool")

How do I do that? I can't find a way to regenerate fractal segments on an existing objects (Mac version, if it changes anything.) Ideally, I'd like to draw an object with the freehand pen and later "fractalize it".

EDIT: btw, pressing "S" to regenerate a fractal doesn't seem to work at all, even with new objects.

User avatar
Kanchou
Site Admin
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: change fractal edge?

Postby Kanchou » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:31 am

stefanstr wrote:
Kanchou wrote:(and remember you can always regenerate fractal segments later once the object is created from the "Edit Shape Tool")

How do I do that? I can't find a way to regenerate fractal segments on an existing objects (Mac version, if it changes anything.) Ideally, I'd like to draw an object with the freehand pen and later "fractalize it".

EDIT: btw, pressing "S" to regenerate a fractal doesn't seem to work at all, even with new objects.


Hello!

Me moved that to the Edit Shape Tool a few revs back when we streamlined the UI. If you put the Edit Shape Tool in "Shape control points" you'll see the options to regenerate fractals and create nested fractals.

It ended up buried...but we couldn't think of a better way. Suggestions are always welcome :)

Thank you!

- Alejandro
Alejandro S. Canosa
Three Minds Software

stefanstr
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: change fractal edge?

Postby stefanstr » Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:16 pm

Kanchou wrote:
stefanstr wrote:
Kanchou wrote:(and remember you can always regenerate fractal segments later once the object is created from the "Edit Shape Tool")

How do I do that? I can't find a way to regenerate fractal segments on an existing objects (Mac version, if it changes anything.) Ideally, I'd like to draw an object with the freehand pen and later "fractalize it".

EDIT: btw, pressing "S" to regenerate a fractal doesn't seem to work at all, even with new objects.


Hello!

Me moved that to the Edit Shape Tool a few revs back when we streamlined the UI. If you put the Edit Shape Tool in "Shape control points" you'll see the options to regenerate fractals and create nested fractals.

It ended up buried...but we couldn't think of a better way. Suggestions are always welcome :)

Thank you!

- Alejandro

Oh wow, I would never have found it without your suggestion. :shock:

First issue: the icon you use for Edit Shape Tool doesn't evoke the intended use at all. I thought it was something to do with built structures based on the icon and never thought of checking it out. (On an unrelated note, I still don't know what the Pan Tool is for...)

As to the Edit Shape Tool itself... it feels confusing. I think a part of the issue that the three icons to the left (Full Path Points, Shape Control Points, Branches) are really "submenus" that govern what options are displayed, but visually, they don't feel any different from the other icons. The problem with this is that you don't use this two-tier system in any other menu.

An unrelated issue I discovered: rivers are often invisible for me.

User avatar
Kanchou
Site Admin
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: change fractal edge?

Postby Kanchou » Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:17 pm

stefanstr wrote:Oh wow, I would never have found it without your suggestion. :shock:

First issue: the icon you use for Edit Shape Tool doesn't evoke the intended use at all. I thought it was something to do with built structures based on the icon and never thought of checking it out. (On an unrelated note, I still don't know what the Pan Tool is for...)

As to the Edit Shape Tool itself... it feels confusing. I think a part of the issue that the three icons to the left (Full Path Points, Shape Control Points, Branches) are really "submenus" that govern what options are displayed, but visually, they don't feel any different from the other icons. The problem with this is that you don't use this two-tier system in any other menu.


We'll look into it more. I think we are getting to the point where some of the more complex functionality needs tutorials (which we are working on).

stefanstr wrote:An unrelated issue I discovered: rivers are often invisible for me.


Can you give us more detail on this? So far we haven't seen any issues in OSX with rivers.

Thank you!

- Alejandro
Alejandro S. Canosa
Three Minds Software