Transparent Background

Questions and comments about Other World Mapper.

Moderator: Kanchou

mark

Transparent Background

Post by mark » Sun Jan 21, 2018 4:01 pm

I've drawn a humble map, not as good as the awesome work others here can do, I'm still learning!

What I'd like to do now is to add it as a feature so I can use it in another map, but for that I ideally need to export it with a completely transparent background.... otherwise I'll have to do some fiddly magic-wand selection/deletion in another raster image program, which I'd dearly like to avoid.
Sævar-Hestr .PNG
Sævar-Hestr .PNG (123.27 KiB) Viewed 13016 times
Is it possible to have nothing at all in the background (or at least for export), ie: no colour, no image, no texture? If so, please could one of you kind folk tell me how?

Thanks. :)

PS. Also, shapes seem to be layered exclusively under features......I can't send them backwards behind features....is there anyway around that? For example, he "ropes" on the ship are lines, but I cannot show them in front of features (like the oars), so I imagine I'll have to edit them in another piece of software. Anyway around that?
Vikingr -- 9th century PbP using Mythras

Kyete
Site Moderator

Re: Transparent Background

Post by Kyete » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:55 pm

Cool! You can export with a transparent background. When the Export Settings window comes up, hit the Layers button at the bottom and uncheck the Canvas.

There's no way to change the layer order of different item types at this time.

-Katie

mark

Post by mark » Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:16 pm

Thanks for the reply! That is very nifty, I thought I had fiddled with everything, but obviously missed that when exporting! I'm delighted, I've exported my ship without a background, in higher res, minus labels, and then added it as a feature. Perfect! :mrgreen: