Importing Maps

Development feedback on user interface, features and general design.

Moderator: Kyete

lauraoliva

Importing Maps

Post by lauraoliva » Fri Sep 04, 2015 12:05 pm

As a writer, I already have paper copies of some complex maps. I have attempted to duplicate two of them in OWM, but it has been very frustrating. Since the current design of the maps are intricately related to the novels and stories that inspired them, I can't just recreate something new. I can, however, digitize the existing paper copies for importation. I noticed an Import SVG function under the File menu but using it does nothing. Is this an up-and-coming feature? Or is there something special I need to do to use the function?

I haven't given up. I am now trying to figure out how to get my Ugee M708 tablet to accept the boundaries of OWM, so I can try tracing the existing paper copies but importing the originals would be the most ideal.

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Thank you,
Laura Oliva

Kanchou
Site Admin

Re: Importing Maps

Post by Kanchou » Fri Sep 04, 2015 2:23 pm

lauraoliva wrote:As a writer, I already have paper copies of some complex maps. I have attempted to duplicate two of them in OWM, but it has been very frustrating. Since the current design of the maps are intricately related to the novels and stories that inspired them, I can't just recreate something new. I can, however, digitize the existing paper copies for importation. I noticed an Import SVG function under the File menu but using it does nothing. Is this an up-and-coming feature? Or is there something special I need to do to use the function?

I haven't given up. I am now trying to figure out how to get my Ugee M708 tablet to accept the boundaries of OWM, so I can try tracing the existing paper copies but importing the originals would be the most ideal.

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Thank you,
Laura Oliva
Laura,